Article: I’m the Idiot Who Bought an HD-DVD Player

This article was on Slate.com Feb 28. When I read it I thought, “Wow, I could have written this myself.” Of course, my version wouldn’t have been as funny, so you can read Josh Levin’s version.

This paragraph in particular is me to a T:

“In retrospect, it might’ve been smarter not to buy either player. But alas, I have a strange affliction that left me susceptible to HD-DVD’s limited charms: I’m a gadget-loving cheapskate. The typical early adopter opens his wallet first and asks questions later; he doesn’t care how many gigs of RAM are inside the MacBook Air, just that it slides into a Manila envelope. The HD-DVD player, however, appealed to a different group, electronics fetishists too imprudent to wait out a format war yet stingy enough to base their purchasing decisions entirely on price. Of course, this is an irrational position, like signing up for the inaugural commercial flight to the moon but only paying for a coach-class ticket. But that’s how my brain works—I have a Creative Zen Micro, not an iPod.”

Well, except I dont have a Creative Zen Micro. I have a Sansa e250.

Article: http://www.slate.com/id/2185365/

Leave a Reply

Limited Time Special Offers!!



a

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

