Timing on the Road is Everything

I had to make a quick trip home today during lunch because I walked out the door with my wife’s car keys this morning. On the way there I had to cross over the Missouri River, typically not a big deal. But today, for some reason, they are working on the bridge. Two of the five lanes are closed. Not just any two, but two in the middle, so they are routing traffic to both sides to get past it.

Here is where the timing comes in, when I went by traffic was still flowing good, though of course slowing down just a bit to get by. Fifteen minutes later, when I went back past on the eastbound bridge, I saw that traffic westbound was now backed up at least a mile and a half and almost sitting still.

Timing is everything, and today, that lucky timing of going by when I did saved me quite a bit of my workday.

2 Responses to “Timing on the Road is Everything”


  1. 1 Raspberry March 12, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    And what is with all the construction in the area?! Wouldn’t they plan it a little better so the traffic isn’t so horrible at the same time all over the area? But I can’t really complain because it hasn’t affected me commute much…

  2. 2 thebaldmonkey March 12, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    No kidding. I grew up a small town guy. I hate big city traffic. And I tell ya, I wouldn’t mind your commute one bit. ;o)


Leave a Reply

Limited Time Special Offers!!



a

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

