The Bald Monkeys Terrible Tardy Movie Review – Harry Potter and The Order of the Phoenix

The thing about having two small children and no family near by is that you don’t get to watch movies very often. The last movie I saw in the theater was the recent VeggieTales movie: The Pirates Who Don’t Do Anything. I may write a review of that one soon, since it will soon be out on video, but for now I want to do a review of one that has been on video for quite some time.

Last night I finally got to watch Harry Potter and The Order of The Phoenix. I sat down on my comfy couch in front of my 40″ Samsung LCD TV with my HD DVD player and watched this latest screen adaptation of this wonderful story.

All I can say is wow. Okay, that’s not true. I have a bit more to say. But it does sum it up nicely.

I honestly can’t say which of the last two movies have been better. The whole dragon fight in Goblet of Fire was awesomely filmed. But the fight in the Ministry of Magic at the end of OotP was just as good if not better.

Daniel Radcliffe’s performance was yet again wonderful in this film. He captures the struggles that Harry is experiencing so well. And his response to the death of Sirius was so powerful I almost had to cry for him. I am not an overly passionate person, at least not outwardly so, so it is hard for me to imagine an event in my own life that would elicit that sort of emotional response from me. So for me, that just illustrates how strong Harry’s feelings for his godfather were.

Imelda Staunton also played her role quite well. The only flaw I could find in her portrayal of Dolores Umbridge was that she wasn’t ugly enough. But, there isn’t anything she could do about that. So I would give her two sticks of butter up. (Hey, I just made up my own new movie rating system :o)

As a side note, I love my TV with an HD movie on it. Granted, I am bummed that my player is fast growing obsolete and I will eventually be forced to pay way too much money for a Blu-Ray but, after experiencing a few movies in HD in my own home, I know I will eventually bite the bullet and buy one. Hopefully, buy then, the prices will have come down from their ridiculous height.

3 Responses to “The Bald Monkeys Terrible Tardy Movie Review – <i>Harry Potter and The Order of the Phoenix</i>”


  1. 1 Fiscal Musings March 23, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    I have still refused to read or watch Harry Potter. Not that I think they would actually be horrible, but I have no desire to get sucked into them.

  2. 2 1wmcaw March 24, 2008 at 11:49 am

    Oh, you are missing out. Give up. Get sucked in. Allow yourself to become one of us. Resistance is futile :oD I said this (in)famously once myself. Said I would “Never be one of those Harry Potter people.”

    I read the first four books in ONE WEEK. No lie. And I don’t typically like the fantasy genre at all. Monkey man can attest to that fact. :o) I couldn’t even read Lord of the Rings. But I adore Harry Potter.

    Thanks for watching the movie with me babe. It was awesome wasn’t it?

  3. 3 Raspberry March 24, 2008 at 11:51 am

    I love Harry Potter but I haven’t gotten to watch this one yet. I’ve heard mixed reviews about all the movies, but I’ve really enjoyed all of them so far. I guess I’ll have to go rent this one, at redbox, of course.


Leave a Reply

Limited Time Special Offers!!



a

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

