Real Life Quidditch

I am a 27 year old man (28 this Saturday) and I am a Harry Potter fan. This is not something I am ashamed of. I will talk HP with anyone that wants to. I can even say I really enjoyed Rowling’s new sport Quidditch and I was bummed that there weren’t any games in the last few books and there aren’t going to be any more in the last few movies.

But I seriously doubt I would have ever thought to try adapting it for play in real life. But someone tried. And apparently, they have been pretty successful with it. According to the linked article, the Intercollegiate Quidditch Association started at Middlebury College, has grown to include “nearly 65 member colleges from across the country.”

Right now, March 22-29, they are having a spring break road trip taking Quidditch to schools all throughout the Northeast.

Read up on it. There is even a link in the article to a YouTube video about it. Sounds cool. Looks just as rough in real life as it did on screen. I may have never thought of it myself but props to the group that did.

Story Link

2 Responses to “Real Life Quidditch”


  1. 1 Fiscal Musings March 27, 2008 at 7:41 am

    I have no idea what this game even is.

  2. 2 thebaldmonkey March 27, 2008 at 8:57 am

    That’s because you haven’t read Harry Potter. Ask your woman to explain it to you.


Leave a Reply

Limited Time Special Offers!!



a

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

