I Survived…

The Earthquake of ’08!

Early this morning, around 4:35, an earthquake struck near a small town in Illinois, about 125 miles east of St. Louis, in the Wabash Valley Fault Zone. It registered a 5.2 on the Richter scale, tying it for the largest ever in the region.

I, of course, slept right through it. My daughter didn’t though, which woke me up shortly after.

Then, at about 10:15 this morning, there was an aftershock. I was at work and I did feel that one. It registered about 4.5 on the scale. I was just suddenly rocking slightly back and forth in my chair. Some of the guys I work with were up walking around and didn’t feel anything.

It was pretty cool. I hadn’t ever felt an earthquake before. Though I had slept through one before in Memphis while I was in college. Seems like they always hit at night in my areas.

So, it was just cool to say now that I have been through one.

Maybe I should make up some T-shirts.

“I Survived the Quake of ’08!”

Have you been through anything like that?

3 Responses to “I Survived…”


  1. 1 Fiscal Musings April 19, 2008 at 10:27 am

    I also felt my chair shaking during the aftershock and survived. An interesting experience.

  2. 2 Bugskippy April 21, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    How cool! I have never been in an earthquake. And I certainly don’t want to be injured, or lose property or anything like that. But it would be kind of fun, and freaky, to feel the earth shake, just a little bit, to know what it’s like. I was suprised to see one strike in Illinois, that’s not something you hear everyday. Glad to hear you were ok.

  3. 3 1wmcaw April 22, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    Haha. The “Quake of ’08.” This has got to be the dumbest stuff ever, I think. Especially for this area. The ground shook people! You weren’t even awake when it happened for crying out loud. Ugh. It’s like the tornado people talking about hearing the “train.” Makes me nuts.

    The aftershock was nifty. At first I thought Tia was shaking the chair 🙂 Then I realized there is no way our 17 lb. baby could do something like that and understood what was actually happening.


Leave a Reply

Limited Time Special Offers!!



a

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

