Softball Time

Well, it’s that time of year again. Softball starts tomorrow morning.

I play on a Church League team here in the Midwest with guys from my church and eight other teams. I look forward to this every year and this year I have the uh… pleasure? of being coach, mostly because no one else wanted to do it.

Now, I get to have up to 20 guys on my roster, including subs. If I include a few guys that I actually haven’t talked to, I have 11 regulars and 13 subs. I don’t have to finalize the roster until the middle of June.

Of course, for tomorrow’s games, I have a grand total of 3 guys, including me, that have said they will be there tomorrow. Part of that I can blame on my church having its Men’s Retreat this weekend. Hopefully a few of the guys that go to that will make it back in time to play. We will see.

Gotta have 8 to play, and by “to play” I mean, get our tails handed to us if we only got 8. You get 10 men on the field, so playing with 8 is an exercise in frustration.

Anyway, I will probably update the blog with tales of softball as the season goes.

And pray for me that I get all the money that the team owes me. $45 per player and I had to make up the difference in advance for 5 guys that haven’t paid yet. As Mr. Fiscal Musings will tell ya, that’s not a cool use of funding.

At least he managed to pay in advance.

1 Response to “Softball Time”


  1. 1 1wmcaw April 28, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    Uh, I told you so :op

    And, Mr. FM paid you because you are a scary man. He feared for his life that you’d put a hit out on him if he didn’t hand over the cash quickly.

    I wish you’d threaten the people we go to church with like that. Maybe I wouldn’t have to say “I told you so” then.


Leave a Reply

Limited Time Special Offers!!



a

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

