Softball Update #4

Well, yesterday was Week 4 for the team. I managed to actually have 10 guys available to play by Friday afternoon, even though I was bending the rules a bit by using several guys I work with instead of all guys I go to church with. But I am pretty sure the league coordinator doesn’t care who plays for us as long as he doesn’t have to give me my money back.

Friday night I got a call from him offering me a new guy at his church. He had just moved to town and he wanted to play so, knowing I was struggling to get guys to come out, he offered him to me. Wonderful news. I now have 6 regulars on the team, one less sub for me to have to beg to play.

I am really thinking about asking the guys from work to play every week. Even if they don’t want to come, I am going to keep bugging them.

So, on to the games. We played the one team in the league that I really don’t like. Normally they have a pitcher\catcher combination that has got to be the most annoying two people you will ever be around. They talk non-stop the entire game. I’m sure it’s an effort to rattle the hitters, and it normally works well on the guys on our team.

But, thank the Lord, the pitcher didn’t show for the game. So in a turn around from last week, we actually had 11 guys, while they only had 9.

The first game didn’t go great. We played all seven innings and wound up losing by one run, 11-10. The other teams scorer had the final at 12-9, and I have no idea how they got that. But, as far as I can remember, the home team score book is official. And we were the home team. So the final was 11-10. We lose either way, but I think runs scored might come into play for a tie-breaker in determining tournament seeding. But I will have to talk to the boss to see if that is right.

The second game started out looking like a blowout. They jumped out to an early lead of 7-3 after the first inning. After that though we held them to just one run in the 2nd, 3rd, and 6th innings and none in the 4th and 5th. We followed our three in the 1st with two in the 2nd, three in the 4th and two in the 5th.

We actually were out of time in the middle of the 6th with a one run lead. Being the visiting team though meant that we had to hold them in the bottom of the 6th to win. We didn’t. They got one run across the plate and sent us beyond the time limit and into the 7th inning. We held each other to no runs for the inning and went to extra innings.

I don’t know if it was because we were over time or if it’s just an extra inning rule, but in the 8th both teams got to start the inning with a man on second. This totally helped us out. We used that runner to start us on a seven run rally.

They also managed a small rally in the 8th, with several quick runs. Somewhere in this inning I think is where my second baseman blew his opportunity for a web gem moment. Easy ground ball that if I remember correctly would have ended the inning, scooted under his glove, between his legs, and into right field. I won’t name any names, but if you try hard enough, you can probably figure out who he is.

But, that didn’t kill us. The next batter flied out to right center and the inning ended. Game over, we win 17-14.

It was a good day, splitting with these guys. The comeback of the second game was really satisfying.

Next week we don’t play because of the holiday but we will be back on the following week. Hopefully we can play just as well. And hopefully I can field a team for the third week in a row.

Much thanks to my buddies from work for coming out!

0 Responses to “Softball Update #4”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Limited Time Special Offers!!



a

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

