That’s my son…

So I got a funny story for ya here.

Tuesday night my son had his first Christmas Program at his preschool. He’s 3 so naturally he didn’t sing any of the songs but he did a great job standing up there with all the other kids and he did a lot of the hand motions that went along with the songs.

He really did a great job and I was one proud daddy.

The funny story though…

Requires a little background to get the humor.

When I was little, maybe a year or two older than he is, I was in my first Christmas play. I was an angel and as far as I know, just had to stand around, no lines or anything. We were in Germany at the time and my grandparents flew all the way there from here in the states to see me in my first play.

And of course, according to the story I have heard many many times over the years, I, being a bored 4 or 5 year old, spent almost the entire play on stage, with my finger up my nose. (I think I was trying to scratch my brain or something if the stories that are told are accurate.)

So for years my mom has told that story on me. I think my wife knew that story before we even got engaged, she may have known it before we started dating, I’m not sure.

So last night, Tay has his first show. My mom flew down from the DC area to see it. Pretty much, as soon as he got up on the stage and they got all the kids settled down, he proved that he is my son.

Yup, you guessed it, finger right up the nose.

Luckily, he just did it for a second and then stopped. But it was enough to get a big laugh out of my whole family.

There is no doubting it, he is my son.

1 Response to “That’s my son…”


  1. 1 Julie December 16, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    That is so funny, especially all your family traveling so far to witness it. I needed a good laugh. We had a Christmas program our sons were in a couple weeks ago. Our freaked out and wouldn’t go on stage. I had forgotten all about it until I read this post. But when I was little I was supposed to be a flower girl in a wedding. I screamed, cried and refused just before the wedding. That’s exactly what my son did before his Christmas program. I guess our kids do pick up our traits. I got over it, and have forced myself to do things in public even when I was shy. I’m assuming you’ve gotten over the nose picking thing (cue winking smiley face) I’m sure your son will. It makes for a really cute story though! Thanks for sharing it!


Leave a Reply

Limited Time Special Offers!!



a

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

