Gotta love the library

I just have to say real quick that my local library is going to save my life for this class I am taking.

I am writing my first paper on Electronic Health Documents, a huge Information Systems change that is ongoing in the health industry, and one that Obama is pushing hard to get nationalized, one of the few ideas he has supported that I agree with him on.  (I threw in that little dig because my lovely wife suggested the topic based on the fact that EHD’s are currently in the news because he — Ooops, better capitalized that…..  there we go, don’t want to offend the messiah’s followers —  because He is pushing them, but I digress…)

Unfortunately, information on the health industry tends to be hard to come by, especially info that has been published in the last six months, which is a requirement for all of our sources.

The library though, is subscribed to a large, let me repeat, Large number of journals. In the last hour of searching I have already found several articles from different journals that are going to be lovely sources for this first paper. Most of the journals I have found charge fees for individual articles online that are high enough that I can’t imagine the cost of a subscription, but I don’t have to.

Support your local library!! You never know when they are going to be supporting you!

3 Responses to “Gotta love the library”


  1. 1 TeacherJay January 14, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    Local libraries are a good source for electronic access to journal databases. Many also offer the ability to connect to these online from your home computer using a proxy server. The access may be a bit slower, but you can do it 24/7. Also, if you belong to any professional organizations, they sometimes give you access to limited databases as well.

    • 2 thebaldmonkey January 14, 2009 at 12:53 pm

      Yup, my library does allow access to the journals through your own computers at home. Just requires logging in with your library card number and last name. It’s going to be way convenient for me with two small kids at home to be able to research from home after they go to bed.

  2. 3 julie January 14, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    I love that library! But, I had no idea you could access those types of journals. I’ll have to look into it. Thanks for the info!


Leave a Reply

Limited Time Special Offers!!



a

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

